|POLICY SOURCE: Student Handbook - Standards and Policies||POLICY NO.: 5593|
|TITLE: Alcohol Policy||SUBMITTED BY: Liz Fox|
|DATE: August 14, 2014||APPROVED BY: Liz Fox|
Consistent with Florida and Federal law, the minimum legal drinking age on or off the Florida Tech campus is 21. Underage possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages, public intoxication, driving or operating a motor vehicle or other mode of transportation while under the influence of alcohol or other substance, distribution or sale of alcohol, possession of a common source container, or excessive or rapid consumption of alcohol are violations of the alcohol policy.
Possession, consumption or distribution of alcohol by any person who is under the age of 21 is prohibited. Possession, consumption or distribution of alcohol in any common space including but not limited to a hallway, stairwell, lounge or bathroom is prohibited.
A student who is 21 years of age or older may possess and/or consume the permissible amount of alcohol in his/her residence hall room or apartment provided that no other individual under the age of 21 is present, unless that individual is the roommate. The door to the room or apartment must be closed when in possession or consuming alcohol. No guest under the age of 21 is allowed in the residence hall room of a 21-year-old student while alcohol is being consumed.
An individual who is 21 years of age or older may possess and/or consume alcohol in the room of another 21-year-old student provided that no one under the age of 21 is present. Abiding by the alcohol policy is the responsibility of all students.
Public intoxication is the appearance on campus or at a university activity in a state of intoxication. Facilitating, arranging or participating in any alcohol consumption activity that facilitates or encourages competitive, rapid or excessive consumption of alcohol regardless of age is prohibited. Examples include without limitation, keg standing, alcohol luges and drinking games. Containers of alcoholic beverages over 40 ounces including but not limited to wine, beer, liquor, mini-kegs, beer balls, trash cans, tubs or punch bowls are prohibited. Individual possession of alcohol is limited to either one six-pack of beer or 40 ounces of liquor or wine per student who is at least 21 years old and is a resident of the room or apartment. Displays of alcohol beverages, funnels, empty alcohol boxes or containers, or shot glasses are prohibited.
The sale of alcoholic beverages or consumption of alcoholic beverages outdoors and in public areas is prohibited, except at scheduled events approved by the Office of the Dean of Students.